EYOF Erzurum 2017

Talent Team Erzurum 300x200

From the 11th until the 18th of February 2017 fifteen athletes from the Netherlands took part at the thirteens edition of the European Youth Winter Olympic Festival in the Turkish city of Erzurum. 

The Dutch team, called officially the ‘NOC*NSF Talent Team Erzurum 2017’, gained three medals in total; two silver medals in boy’s curling and girl’s 500m short track (Georgie Dalrymple) and one bronze medal in 3,000m mixed relay short track. 

The Dutch team competed in four of the nine different EYOF winter sports. All Dutch athletes had been selected by their national federations and belong to the national junior or talent teams.

  • Alpine skiing
    Boys: David Leek, Roy Moehring, Rik Schippers, Raphael Zuurbier
    Girls: Noa Blok, Roxy van der Haas

  • Curling
    Boys: Olaf Bolkenbaas, Wouter Gösgens, Bart Klomp, Jop Kuijpers

  • Figure skating:
    Girls: Sam Jansen

  • Short track:
    Boys: Hugo Bosma, Melle van ’t Wout
    Girls: Georgie Dalrymple, Sara van Zuijlen

The Dutch NOC considers the European Youth Olympic Festival as an important stepping stone for young, talented athletes who have a strong ambition to compete in the Olympic Games in the future. Chef de Mission Dutch Team, Mr Francesco Wessels: ‘This event has provided a unique opportunity for our young talents to immerse into the life of an elite sport athlete and an Olympian. An invaluable experience!’

Please find more (Dutch) information about the event and the NOC*NSF Talent Team Erzurum 2017 at www.nocnsf.nl/erzurum2017